Different Layers In Mind and Their Functions

May 29, 2011     Posted under: Know How

Pin It

The Physical Or Gross Mind: This has the ability to pick up signals that are important for survival, such as hunger and pain, and the urge to procreate.

The Sensory Layer: This is concerned with sensory impulses, such as the sensation of fullness, the feeling of pressure, pain, sound, taste and sight.

The Thinking Layer: This is the layer that works things out logically. It is connected to worldly wisdom. This layer of the mind also gives us our egos –our sense of ourselves as individuals .When we say ‘I’ and ‘I am like this’, it is the product of this layer  of the mind. This part is hurt when our egos are bruised.

The Empathy Layer: This is about compassion and a love for others in a non-contractual way, where what we do for other creatures is not limited by thoughts of what we get in return.

The Special Gift Layer: Things like a high degree of creativity and clairvoyance are the products of this layer of the mind. People show evidence of these gifts only if they remain clear of the clutter of thoughts raised by the lower layers.

The Special Wisdom Layer: This is the layer of the mind that can see the past, present and future. It is connected to the cosmic mind and has at its disposal the wisdom of the past, present and future. This is the ultimate layer of the mind, ready to experience enlightenment. The ultimate mind is the mind that experiences and lives in bliss. It is the pinnacle of knowledge, wisdom, the senses and stillness.


NitiN Kumar Jain

Nitin works in an IT MNC professionally but blogs and owns NKJ Live. He is also the co-owner of a professional start-up ARGHAM BYTES

More PostsWebsiteTwitterFacebook

Possibly Related Articles:

Free Subscription

Get articles in your inbox.

Enter your email address: